#Week 1: Joining DoK as a Community Management Intern

#Week 1: Joining DoK as a Community Management Intern

ยท

3 min read

Hello everyone ๐Ÿ‘‹, If you are following me on my Twitter or LinkedIn you might know that I joined Data on Kubernetes Community as a Community Management Intern. And I have complete 1 week as it's a team member.

To be honest, I still can't believe that 1 week has passed so quickly. It has been a lot of fun and collaboration.

Okay, I will be sharing my learning and insights about my experience in this blog. If you would like to follow me through my 6 months journey, you can consider signing up on my newsletter on my profile so that you get notified every week when I share my learning and experience.

Okay so let's get started.

My week ๐Ÿš€.

I joined as a team on 26/07/2021 and had my first standup (The first standup of my life as this is my first internship). I was pretty nervous because I was going to talk live with Kunal Kushwaha and Bart Farrell. Like literally I had talked to them in the slack channel but when it came to face-to-face I got camera conscious ๐Ÿ˜…. I joined the meeting and I encountered totally opposite atmosphere. They welcomed me so warmly. They explained to me about their regular's and how they manage tasks and all. It felt like a totally chilled discussion. I was assigned my work mail (My first work mail, tbh I had butterflies in my stomach ๐Ÿคญ) then I was added to all the collaborative platforms, etc.

We did daily standups called Daily sync meeting. Where we discussed:

  1. What we did yesterday
  2. What we will be doing today
  3. Any blocker we are facing
  4. Any shoutouts As the Days passed on I became comfortable. Yes in a week I felt like I belong here for a long time. I really like communicating with other teammates. Listening to their ideas, telling your ideas fearlessly, speaking up more. Bart & Kunal kept on telling us that don't feel left out. If you want to speak about something just do it. I personally feel like the current team is like perfectly matched puzzle blocks. We laugh at jokes (Usually Bart takes charge and makes us laugh ๐Ÿ˜‚). We share ideas, thoughts, etc.

Bart & Kunal always give us their valued opinion which would personally help us to grow and network out of the community as well. We are given the opportunity to learn, grow. We have been provided with some equipment to make our hardware setup a bit improved. We are always asked to reach out in case we need any help or anything which needs to be discussed.

And trying to do some fun stuff in the ending of every daily sync is cherry on top. We click pictures of us wearing sunglasses as posing. As one you can see below (Me in top right corner)

Screenshot 2021-07-27 at 12.27.52 PM.png

I am loving the way all of us collaborate and work together. This is definitely one of the best chapters of my life. I learned many things in just a week and hopefully will learn more things until the end of my internship. Do you know what this is community you would like to be a part of. They are so supportive and collaborative.

That was my 1st week as a DoK Intern. If you liked it please make sure you subscribe to the newsletter, I also write about technical stuff on my page so please follow my page, and like this series. The new blog would be coming out every week.

Catch me up on my socials: https://bio.link/kaiwalya and I will meet you in the next one ๐Ÿ‘‹

Thank you so much for reading ๐Ÿ’–

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Kaiwalya Koparkar by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย